Comic Publishers

March 3, 2017

2016 Ghastly Award Winners Announced!

The Ghastly Award Judges are proud to announce the Winners of the 2016 Ghastly Awards. The Ghastly Award Judges chose the Nominees from the books submitted by Comic Creators and Publishers throughout 2016. Winners were voted on by Comic Book Creators, Publishers and the Fans. The Ghastly Judges congratulates all 2016 Winners and Nominees. It is an honor to be recognized by your fellow professionals for such outstanding work in horror comics.


The 2016 Winners are:


Best Ongoing Title

Harrow County
(Dark Horse Comics)

Best Limited Series

(Alterna Comics)

Best One-Shot

Locke & Key: Small World
(IDW Publishing)

Best Anthology

John Carpenter’s Tales for a Halloween Night Volume 2
(Storm King Productions)

Best Short Story in an Anthology

“When the Devil Walked in Dower”
(Insane Tales From the Dead #3)

Best OGN

Dylan Dog: Mater Morbi
(Epicenter Comics)

Best Archival Collection

Collection of previously released material / Historical Book on Horror Comics

Aliens 30th Anniversary: The Original Comic Series
(Dark Horse Comics)

Best Writer

Cullen Bunn
(Harrow County, The Sixth Gun, Blood Feud, Death Follows)

Best Artist

Tyler Crook
(Harrow County)

Best Colorist

Dave Stewart

(House of Penance, B.P.R.D. Hell on Earth) 


Best Inker

Nik Poliwko

(Tiki Surf Witches Want Blood, The Creeps, Tales from Grim County)


Best Letterer

Nate Piekos

(Colder: Toss the Bones, Alabaster: The Good, the Bad & The Bird, The Steam Man,
Aliens: Defiance, House of Penance, Weird Detective)

Best Horror Comic Cover

Fan voting determined the Winner

Gore Shriek Resurrectus Volume 1: Cover B
(Artist Putrid Matt Carr)

Hall of Fame Inductees

Johnny Craig 

Gary Reed 


Normanton Award Honoree

Presented for their commitment to carrying on the legacy of Horror Comics for generations to come.

Craig Yoe



Named for acclaimed comics creator “Ghastly” Graham Ingels, the Awards are in their 6th year. Created to honor excellence in Horror Comics, Comic Creators and Publishers can submit their books for nomination consideration throughout the calendar year. The top five nominees in each category will be chosen by the Judges, and will then be voted on by the Judges, Creators, Publishers and Fans to decide the winners.

We thank everyone who took the time to vote in the 2016 Awards. The submission process is now open for the 2017 Awards!

We congratulate all of the Winners and Nominees for what they bring to the comic reading community. To be nominated is an honor and the Ghastly Awards are here to celebrate your achievements.

For more information on the Ghastly Awards, or to submit your horror comics for the 2017 Award season please go to


Decapitated Dan


One Comment

  1. Iron_Matt

    That Best Horror Comic cover is SWEEEEEET!!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Website Protected by Spam Master