October 15, 2011

Dark Horse announces 5 new Star Wars titles for 2012 at New York Comic Con!

Early this morning, Dark Horse announced five new Stars Wars titles set to hit shelves in 2012, beginning as early as January. They are Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic- WAR, Star Wars: Dawn of the Jedi, Star Wars: Bloodties- Boba Fett is Dead, Star Wars: Knight Errant- Escape and Star Wars: Darth Vader and the Ghost Prison!

Art and series details are below.

Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic- WAR
Release Date: January 11, 2012
Creative Team: John Jackson Miller (W), Benjamin Carré (C)

The Knights of the Old Republic video games and comics chronicle one of the most popular eras in Star Wars, making Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic—War the perfect entry point into the Star Wars galaxy!

The Republic and the Mandalorians are at war! Following the charismatic Revan, Jedi are joining the fight, despite the noninterference stance of the Council. One Jedi, however, has found himself on the front lines against his wishes—the peace-loving Zayne Carrick has been drafted!

Star Wars: Dawn of the Jedi
Release Date: #0 February 1, 2012, #1 February 15, 2012
Creative Team: John Ostrander (W) & Jan Duursema (A)

A brand-new series that establishes the beginnings of the Jedi! Series creators John Ostrander and Jan Duursema have gone from the future of Star Wars (Legacy) to the beginnings of that galaxy far, far away to reveal the mythic age of the Jedi’s origin.  This is the Star Wars era of legend!  Launching with a #0 issue, which will serve as the official guide for readers –Star Wars: Dawn of the Jedi is the perfect jumping on point for any fan of Star Wars!

Here’s your first look at the Star Wars of 25,000 years ago—before there were lightsabers, when the ties to the Force were new, and before the Jedi spread out into the galaxy.  It began with the mysterious pyramid ships—the Tho Yor—scattered to the eight corners of the galaxy, and ended with the establishment of an Order that would change the universe forever.

On the planet Tython, in the center of the galaxy, an order of warrior monks strives to maintain peace and to balance the mysterious power known as the Force. But a stranger is coming—one who will destroy both peace and balance, and open the galaxy to exploration and conquest. This is where it all begins!

Star Wars: Blood Ties- Boba Fett Is Dead
Release Date: April 2012
Creative Team: Tom Taylor (W)

“Boba Fett is dead. The most infamous hunter in the galaxy has been hunted. He’s lying, broken, on the desert floor. He’s more blaster-holes than man. It’s the ultimate ending. However, this is just the start of our story. With the fall of Fett broadcast across the galaxy, someone rises to avenge him. But who would care about the death of a man like Fett? Bounty hunters aren’t exactly known for their enduring, close friendships but even a man like Boba Fett has family… and now a Blood Tie demands blood.”  -Tom Taylor

Star Wars: Knight Errant- Escape
Release Date: June 2012
Creative Team: John Jackson Miller (W), Marco Castiello (A),  Vincenzo Acunzo (I), Michael Atiyeh (C), Michael Heiser (L)

This 5 issue story arc stars Jedi Knight Kerra Holt, as she continues her one woman crusade against the Sith from behind enemy lines on her most dangerous mission yet!

Star Wars: Darth Vader and the Ghost Prison
Release Date: May 2012
Creative Team: Haden Blackman (W) & Agustin Alessio (A)

Darth Vader is back and kicking ass in the brand new 5 issue series! Ghost Prison takes place a year after Revenge of the Sith and will showcase Darth Vader’s impact on the galaxy in ways fans have never seen.  Darth Vader will serve the Emperor to the best of his abilities, after all – Darth Vader makes no mistakes. Ghost Prison also marks the return of Star Wars character Moff Trachta who will be vital to how the series unfolds.

For more Star Wars, click here!

Andy Liegl


One Comment

  1. That’s a LOT of Star Wars I’m just hoping that the Legacy books come back sometime by the end of 2012.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Website Protected by Spam Master